Here it is my first Feature Friday. I have been lucky enough to get Jo Melrose to be my first feature artist. She is a very talented local artist whose style is just divine 70’s all the way!

Jo Melrose


Where are you based?
I work as a designer and artist from home in Mont Albert, an eastern suburb of Melbourne.

What style of art do you create?
Over the years my style has changed and evolved. My collages have a strong 1970s feel to them.
My laser cut clocks and wall hangings have a scandinavian and folk art feel to them.

Out of your own collection what is your favourite piece and why?
My favourite piece of work at the moment is the ‘Nordic Cuckoo’ I designed it this
year while, watching the Eurovision song contest! Its my twist on the traditional cuckoo clock.
During the design process I kept asking myself ‘ Am I creating something really hideous,
or something amazing? (I’ll let you decide!)

Where can people to to see your work?
I exhibit my collages at the Canterbury Art show each year and I have recently
created a website of my lasercut designs. www.jomelrosedesign.com.au

What are you working on at the moment?
I’m not really working on anything ‘physically’ at the moment, but I’ve
got a few ideas floating around in my head that I need to get down on paper.
I would like to work on expanding my clock designs.

Jo's lounge room with some of her wall art.

What inspires you?
My children, past memories of my 70’s childhood. It might be a piece of wallpaper, a button, or a movie.

How can people get in contact with you?
I can be contacted via email : jomelrosedeign@gmail.com.au

Words of wisdom?
Don’t listen to everyone!  Think positively, go with your gut feeling,
and remember this equation: talent + determination = success

Jo Melrose Design

Her bird creations with their big eyes are so sweet!

