What do you make when someone gives you a bag of lovely looking home grown broad beans for your birthday? Well I made a lovely batch of falafels. The best I have ever made! I have always just used a dry packet mix before. These were ten times better! To celebrate just how lovely these were I am going to give you a tutorial on how you too can make them!

First peel your broad beans.

The beans came up to about to the 2 cup mark.

Then blend in the blender until fine.

Now from here on I just used what ever I had in the house.  It was a last minute decision to make these for tea and I had no time to shop. With this in mind here comes the rest of the instructions.

Next open one can of chick peas and put them in the blender.

Blend until smooth.

Then from the garden I picked some flat parsley and blended this with 1 brown onion.

I have heard that flat parsley is the best for falafels.

Then I added 2 very large teaspoons of crushed garlic, followed by cumin, sea salt, pepper, coriander, and a herb mix. I would have added some more spices here but there were certain critics in my house that prefer spices left off. You feel free to adlib here.

Blend in your favourite spices.

Stir everything together adding a teaspoon of sesame oil as you go.

It should look like this now!

Next get your hands into it and start rolling the mix in to balls. I made mine about the size you see a falafel in the shops. Then I coated them all lightly in breadcrumbs.

Some people also like to add egg white to the mix.

Then heat a pan with oil in it. Falafels are cooked easily if they are deep fried. But I just used a shallow layer of canola oil in a frying pan and turned them carefully…a lot to stop them sticking and cook them evenly.

Falafels are a nice golden colour once cooked.

Then I served them in a wrap with rocket leaves from my garden and other salad things I had in the fridge. I topped it all of with some home made peach and mango chutney. Yummy!

Home made falafels!

Good luck, hope yours are as yummy as mine!

Oh and don’t forget to enter the give away!

