I was asked to create a 70th birthday cake for my uncle’s 70th. I wanted to make something that captured some of the things that were significant in his life and look like a bit of fun too. After too many different ideas to mention, I settled on an A-Frame Caravan just like he uses when he goes on holidays, with a map of Australia with places he has been marked on it. It was heaps of fun to make but I think a number of the nephews were very sad that we cut it and ate it, I was informed that they wanted to play with it first. I am just not sure that taking a cake for a test run with a bunch of 5 year olds is ever going to be a good idea if you want to eat it later!

Well believe it or not all of my brothers are now married so I have decorated  my last wedding cake for a while.

Unfortunately the final photo is a bit blurry so if anyone has a better copy of it at the reception please email it to me!! Thanks

It was a fabulous day and the location was stunning. Have you ever heard of a place called Womboota? It is a tiny town in NSW not to far from Echuca, I must say I couldn’t think of a better setting for a good old fashion wedding.  I even popped in to the local winery, sampled and purchased some fantastic mead. We even got a demonstration of how to make a throw pot in the ceramics workshop. My only regret was not purchasing the handmade viking replica mugs they would have made great presents for a few people I know. Ah well if I am ever up that way again I  will have to stop in.

